Electronic Concerto

Published by

by Decibel

730pm Tuesday 24 October
PICA Performance Space 

Bookings online now  or in person at PICA reception

A series of co-composed pieces for electronic soloist and Decibel.

The concert will feature the APRA AMC Decibel commissions, that include an iphone work from Mark Oliveiro (NSW) and a trautonium work by Meg Travers (WA). Other works include one for speakers from Johannes Mulder (WA), for Moog Synthesiser by Chris Tonkin (WA , for bass guitar from Pedro Alvarez (WA), a laptop concerto by Stuart James (WA)  and a new harp work funded by the Difficult Commission by Catherine Ashley (electric harp).

Based in Western Australia, Decibel are world leaders in the integration of acoustic instruments and electronics, the interpretation of graphic notations and pioneering digital score formats for composition and performance.

Decibel  have commissioned over 60 new works since their foundation in 2009, have toured Europe and Australia, recorded for ABC Classic FM and SWR German Radio, and released five albums to date on Australian and international labels. The ensemble has developed and commercialised the Decibel ScorePlayer iPad app, a score reading device incorporating mobile score formats and networked coordination performance environments that is sold worldwide.

Decibel are Cat Hope (artistic director, flutes, bass), Lindsay Vickery (reeds), Stuart James (electronics, keyboards, drum kit), Aaron Wyatt (viola), Tristen Parr (cello) and Louise Devenish (percussion).